Life with Horton Brasses

I post a lot of pictures of heirloom quality furniture and cabinets here. It’s kind of my thing. But it isn’t always that way. I just came back from a visit to my grandmothers house in Florida. My grandmother and grandfather owned this company for several decades and left some mighty big shoes to fill. But I’m not here to talk about that. I want to show you how our hardware can be used to give ordinary furniture a little extra something; and how you can mix them in with heirloom and antique pieces of furniture.

But first, here are some pictures of the family, because I like them.

 

Grandma and the kids!

20140817_161326

My grandmother and me (far less exciting, I know).

20140819_184308

Here is a pretty ordinary media cabinet featuring our H-10 rosette pulls and H-30 Sheraton knobs.  With a cameo by our old cast paperweights (owl, snail, and some ducks).


20140819_194207

 

And a reproduction small highboy by the George Whitmore Co, Middlefield. The original was sold at auction sometime in the 1970’s.  This reproduction was commissioned by my grandparents-it is virtually indistinguishable from the original. The pulls are custom made pierced sand cast pulls made by my grandfather.

20140819_194226

 

 

Back to ordinary:  I don’t know exactly what to call the furniture, but this is the breakfast station dressed up with Sheraton knobs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20140819_194329

 

 

 

And on to the antiques.  Early 19th Century Hepplewhite 4 drawer chest.  An absolutely beautiful piece.

20140819_195036

Leave a Reply

